Enquirer Home Page | Twitter | Back to Improbable Island

 Forum Index > Season Two > Feature Requests, Ideas and Feedback New Topic Post Reply
 Custom Races, how to use them?
 |  Printable Version
Mikuo
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 05:51 PM UTC (Read 2400 times)  
Forum Newbie
Newbie

Status: offline

Registered: 03/16/11
Posts: 2

Okay I'm a complete newb and can not figure this out, I have a custom race thing but it's not letting me use it from the lodge bag or when I bought it at the lodge is there some secret way you have to go about using it?


 
Profile Email
Quote
dizzyizzy
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 06:06 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/13/10
Posts: 503

Quote by: Mikuo

Okay I'm a complete newb and can not figure this out, I have a custom race thing but it's not letting me use it from the lodge bag or when I bought it at the lodge is there some secret way you have to go about using it?



View your inventory from the hunter's lodge, that should work.


 
Profile Email
Quote
Maniak
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 06:07 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 10/11/10
Posts: 298

Check your inventory when you're inside the Hunters Lodge. There should be a use option once there.


http://maniak.cu.cc/
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Rosin
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 06:07 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 05/26/08
Posts: 295

Go into the Lodge, and there should be an option to view your bag through there. That's the way to use the Lodge items, with some small exceptions (bags of req, etc).

Actually, this brings up an interesting question that I've had for a while. Why can't we use Lodge items straight from inventory? I mean, what if I need a title change in the middle of a scene held wayyyyy the hell out on the map and don't have enough stam to make it to a city and back? If I don't have a newday primed, I suppose I'm rather screwed in that situation.

I've no clue how the iitems system and lodge things work together, so estimate might be about as reliable as a swiss cheese canoe, but that seems not a hard fix to me. I mean, we use the items from our bags anyway, even if it is in the Lodge, so using them elsewhere isn't that far a fix?

(Or maybe it'd be a hellbeast on the scale of Dwellings, I'm never sure with code!)


(EDIT: Oh snap, that'd be three answers in about the same minute wouldn't it? Way to go, enquirers.)


A magpie's work is never done.
 
Profile Email
Quote
Mikuo
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 06:20 PM UTC  
Forum Newbie
Newbie

Status: offline

Registered: 03/16/11
Posts: 2

*bows* thank you for the help


 
Profile Email
Quote
Hairy Mary
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 06:50 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/17/08
Posts: 1083

I won't bother repeating how to use Hunter's Lodge items, but I will agree with Rosin that being able to use them anywhere would be nice.


 
Profile Email
Quote
CavemanJoe
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 10:03 PM UTC  
Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 02/24/08
Posts: 2281

Being able to use HL items outside of the HL would be nice, yeah, but it's non-trivial. I'll try to get to this sometime this month.


 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Rosin
 Wednesday, March 16 2011 @ 10:42 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 05/26/08
Posts: 295

Thaaaaank youuuuuuu.

(That's always been something I've wanted to be able to do. Like picking up a stick in story and changing my custom weapon to a stick for the five minutes or so I have it. Just for fun.)


A magpie's work is never done.
 
Profile Email
Quote
Twosocks Monkey
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 11:47 AM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 01/28/11
Posts: 246

I also would like to request that lodge items be accessible outside the lodge. I recently underwent a massive change somewhere close-ish to an outpost. It was alright to run up to Kittania, use my items...go into preferences ya da ya da, but is there a reason we have to do things in the outposts?

If so...I don't think it's a big deal. But it certainly would be nice to change our bios and use lodge items outside the outposts.

Big Grin

-Rose


moooooooooo Visit and help me finish the monster list: goo.gl/rpBGe (Ya'll mostly know me as CLOG, fyi)
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Buddleia
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 03:59 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 04/23/10
Posts: 343

It would be umpteen flavours of awesome if we could do this.

Especially from in dwellings without having to leave to access the inventory. Because, you know, going to the World Map can trigger an unexpected Newday if you've been in there playing epic long scenes. (And if you're the sort of fussbudget pedant who insists on collecting their freebies/hitting the pinata/card-hunting/eating/using stam every triggered gameday, it can crimp your style to be gone for half an hour... guilty as charged)

Things it would be oh-so-wonderful to change on the fly:

Hunter's Lodge:

  • Title
  • Name colours
  • Avatar
  • Custom race
  • Custom weapon (low priority, I guess?)
  • Custom armor (low priority?)
  • Mount name (low priority?)

Preferences:
  • Mouseover description
  • Short bio
  • Long Bio
  • Show/hide avatar in mouseover
  • Show/hide race icon
  • Show/hide weapon (low priority?)
  • Show/hide spouse (low priority?)

And while we're asking for the moon and sixpence, how about a preview for Bios? Instead of having to do Save > Return to wherever > View My Bio to check for typos and formatting.


Improbable Reference Links - goo.gl/MRBnb -------------- Land Registry (map of Places) ---- goo.gl/bpkRR
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Beeps
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 04:15 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 10/03/10
Posts: 400

I'd be happy if the Lodge items were consistent. Req bags, cig boxes, and all manner of lodge boxes can't be used from the lodge, which means that if you click on the "View your inventory" button on the page after you've purchased them, you get no option to open up these items.


Goat Collector
 
Profile Email
Quote
Makiwa
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 04:37 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/21/10
Posts: 155

Quote by: Buddleia

It would be umpteen flavours of awesome if we could do this.

Especially from in dwellings without having to leave to access the inventory. Because, you know, going to the World Map can trigger an unexpected Newday if you've been in there playing epic long scenes. (And if you're the sort of fussbudget pedant who insists on collecting their freebies/hitting the pinata/card-hunting/eating/using stam every triggered gameday, it can crimp your style to be gone for half an hour... guilty as charged)

Things it would be oh-so-wonderful to change on the fly:

Hunter's Lodge:

  • Title
  • Name colours
  • Avatar
  • Custom race
  • Custom weapon (low priority, I guess?)
  • Custom armor (low priority?)
  • Mount name (low priority?)

Preferences:
  • Mouseover description
  • Short bio
  • Long Bio
  • Show/hide avatar in mouseover
  • Show/hide race icon
  • Show/hide weapon (low priority?)
  • Show/hide spouse (low priority?)

And while we're asking for the moon and sixpence, how about a preview for Bios? Instead of having to do Save > Return to wherever > View My Bio to check for typos and formatting.



I have no idea what's involved to make this happen. But yesyesyes and er, oh yes! If it is at all possible.


It's not an optical illusion. It just looks like one.
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Beeps
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 04:57 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 10/03/10
Posts: 400

I imagine that preference support in dwellings/mapspaces would be a simple matter of adding

PHP Formatted Code
addnav("P?Preferences","prefs.php");
to the files in the right spots.
Changing the hunter's lodge? Well... I'd have to get it working on the test server before I could poke at it. As CMJ said, this looks like a complicated gewgaw.


Goat Collector
 
Profile Email
Quote
CavemanJoe
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 05:35 PM UTC  
Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 02/24/08
Posts: 2281

Quote by: Beeps

I imagine that preference support in dwellings/mapspaces would be a simple matter of adding

PHP Formatted Code
addnav("P?Preferences","prefs.php");
to the files in the right spots.
Changing the hunter's lodge? Well... I'd have to get it working on the test server before I could poke at it. As CMJ said, this looks like a complicated gewgaw.



Nope! Mr. Green The prefs thing is a similar problem to the Hunter's Lodge thing - the problem lies in letting the player go back to where they were before, without triggering another of whatever it was they were last doing. There's no standardized way of saying "This was where the player was before you distracted them with stuff," y'see.


 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Beeps
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 05:38 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 10/03/10
Posts: 400

Oh, right, going back. Confused How much do people actually use their characters, though?


Goat Collector
 
Profile Email
Quote
CavemanJoe
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 06:04 PM UTC  
Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 02/24/08
Posts: 2281

Quote by: Beeps

How much do people actually use their characters, though?



Not sure exactly what you mean by that, but getting some sort of standardized system for a restoration page would be a good idea at some point. Oh and I fix'd the secret rooms bit, albeit in a slightly different way:

PHP Formatted Code
                        if (httpget("save")){
                                $posted = httpallpost();
                                $nphrases = array();
                                foreach($posted AS $post => $phrase){
                                        $nphrase = stripslashes($phrase);
                                        if ($nphrase!="" && substr($post,0,6)=="phrase"){
                                                $nphrases[]=strtoupper($nphrase);
                                        }
                                }
                                $house['data']['rooms'][$rid]['triggers']=$nphrases;
                                improbablehousing_sethousedata($house);
                        }


Thanks for your input. Smile


 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Makiwa
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 06:07 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/21/10
Posts: 155

Quote by: CavemanJoe

Quote by: Beeps

How much do people actually use their characters, though?



Not sure exactly what you mean by that, but getting some sort of standardized system for a restoration page would be a good idea at some point. Oh and I fix'd the secret rooms bit, albeit in a slightly different way:

PHP Formatted Code
                        if (httpget("save")){
                                $posted = httpallpost();
                                $nphrases = array();
                                foreach($posted AS $post => $phrase){
                                        $nphrase = stripslashes($phrase);
                                        if ($nphrase!="" && substr($post,0,6)=="phrase"){
                                                $nphrases[]=strtoupper($nphrase);
                                        }
                                }
                                $house['data']['rooms'][$rid]['triggers']=$nphrases;
                                improbablehousing_sethousedata($house);
                        }


Thanks for your input. Smile



Oh? Oh! Runs off to test......


It's not an optical illusion. It just looks like one.
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Beeps
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 06:14 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 10/03/10
Posts: 400

Quote by: CavemanJoe


Not sure exactly what you mean by that, but getting some sort of standardized system for a restoration page would be a good idea at some point.


I mean, people don't actually want to play their characters much, right? They can just mess with the preferences and be happy?

Quote by: CavemanJoe


Oh and I fixed the secret rooms bit, albeit in a slightly different way:

PHP Formatted Code
                        if (httpget("save")){
                                $posted = httpallpost();
                                $nphrases = array();
                                foreach($posted AS $post => $phrase){
                                        $nphrase = stripslashes($phrase);
                                        if ($nphrase!="" && substr($post,0,6)=="phrase"){
                                                $nphrases[]=strtoupper($nphrase);
                                        }
                                }
                                $house['data']['rooms'][$rid]['triggers']=$nphrases;
                                improbablehousing_sethousedata($house);
                        }


Thanks for your input. Smile


Happy to help! I'm glad it's getting fixed. Mr. Green


Goat Collector
 
Profile Email
Quote
Reverb
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 06:19 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/28/09
Posts: 448

Quote by: Beeps


I mean, people don't actually want to play their characters much, right? They can just mess with the preferences and be happy?



Who are you and what have you done to our Beeps?!


"Censure acquits the Raven, but pursues the Dove." "So, that means i'm -always- innocent, right?"
 
Profile Email
Quote
Makiwa
 Friday, March 18 2011 @ 06:35 PM UTC  
Forum Improbable Badass
Improbable Badass

Status: offline

Registered: 08/21/10
Posts: 155

Quote by: Makiwa

Quote by: CavemanJoe

Quote by: Beeps

How much do people actually use their characters, though?



Not sure exactly what you mean by that, but getting some sort of standardized system for a restoration page would be a good idea at some point. Oh and I fix'd the secret rooms bit, albeit in a slightly different way:

PHP Formatted Code
                        if (httpget("save")){
                                $posted = httpallpost();
                                $nphrases = array();
                                foreach($posted AS $post => $phrase){
                                        $nphrase = stripslashes($phrase);
                                        if ($nphrase!="" && substr($post,0,6)=="phrase"){
                                                $nphrases[]=strtoupper($nphrase);
                                        }
                                }
                                $house['data']['rooms'][$rid]['triggers']=$nphrases;
                                improbablehousing_sethousedata($house);
                        }


Thanks for your input. Smile



Oh? Oh! Runs off to test......



Blinder! all working as expected now!

Big up thanks Beeps and CMJ Big Grin


It's not an optical illusion. It just looks like one.
 
Profile Email Website
Quote
Content generated in: 0.82 seconds
New Topic Post Reply



 All times are UTC. The time is now 07:00 AM.

Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content