Enquirer Home Page | Twitter | Back to Improbable Island

Forum Index > Places > Places: General New Topic Post Reply
 The Tesseract Maze
 |  Printable Version
Wongo the Sane
 Tuesday, October 24 2017 @ 02:23 PM UTC (Read 406 times)  
Forum Badass
Badass

Greetings place builders.
I've been toying for a couple of years now with the idea of building a tesseract maze. Since my day-job at the moment involves large amounts of standing around waiting, I'm starting to look at making this dream a reality.

The maze will involve a fairly small number of cubical rooms, all of which can be entered with any surface being the floor and with any resulting wall being North.

One way to make this work in practice is to build 24 place rooms per maze room; but that's far too much work and I'd like to keep each maze room's chatspace consistent. It will more likely involve memories, pages, and lots of programming. But I have questions before I start trying to implement this...

1) Can you build multiple doors linking the same two rooms, but with different names?
2) Does each page come with its own programming grid?

I'll probably come up with lots more questions as (if) the project progresses...

Profile Email
csodalatos
 Wednesday, October 25 2017 @ 05:11 PM UTC  
Forum Contestant
Contestant

I'm 70% sure about the doors. As far as programs go, you get one program grid per Place for free; additional ones cost SP, but you can associate multiple programs with a room or a page if you so desire.

Profile Email
Wongo the Sane
 Thursday, October 26 2017 @ 10:12 AM UTC  
Forum Badass
Badass

Thanks Csodalatos

I've been tinkering around and I've learned a few things - like that programs linked to a page don't seem to fire because of 'show page' contraptions.

I am going to need all the programming grids...

Speaking of which;