Subject: Donating to MSF

Posted on: December 09 2009 @ 11:21 PM
By: Ada

Content:

I have a few questions about donating to MSF through the II donations:

-Which chapter of MSF will the donations be going to? It is my understanding that each chapter does its own fundraising.
-Will donator points still be received immediately, or will it take longer because it's having to go through an intermediary?
-Do crates drop automatically once money is donated? Or does this take some time to process also?
-There were other charities on the list - when can people donate to them? Will there be a deadline for donating to MSF?

Thanks!

Replies:

Re: Donating to MSF

Posted on: December 10 2009 @ 12:00 AM
By: CavemanJoe

Content:

I'm still very new to this, so a few things are still being worked out. I'll have answers for your questions soon, but some of them I can answer right now:

1. Which chapter - we'll figure that out. I was under the impression that you could just go to their website and click "donate" and give your credit card details, but if there's more options than that, clearly I need to do a bit more research.
2. You'll get Donator Points straight away, just like in the old system. Remember to donate while you're logged in, otherwise we have to do it manually - and remember that if you pay straight from your bank account, rather than your PayPal balance or a card, it'll take up to a week to go through. So basically it's the same system, it's just that the money's going to someone else.
3. Yes, crates drop automatically. The crate drop module hooks into the donation system, so getting your points and having the crates drop will happen simultaneously upon getting the ping back from PayPal.